Symbiotica – A Cross-Cultural Mixup, Vol. 2


1. Forest Murmurs (2009) 8:22

(recording of Richard Wagner’s Forest Murmurs (Waldweben) from Siegfreid, the third opera of Der Ring des Nibelungen, performed by the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra of New York conducted by James Levine, combined with original electronic music, sounds of rain, a brook, insects, small and large animals, birds)

2. My Favorite Things (2011) 4:32

(from The Sound of Music by Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein performed by mezzo-soprano Frederica von Stade from the 1987 studio recording, film star Julie Andrews from the movie track, the John Coltrane Quartet from the 1961 recording, vocalist Bobby McFarrin ‘live’ in Copenhagen, concert pianist Stephen Hough from his recording of virtuoso encores and transcriptions, and popular singer Nataly Dawn of Pomplamoose, along with a variety of electronic sounds)

3. Fall Rain with Open Window (2007) 4:49

(Benjamin Britten excerpts from Suites Nos. 1-3 for Unaccompanied Violoncello, Jean-Guihen Queyras – Violoncello solo, combined with acoustic samples and electronic music)

Complementary text: John Holland, Vocabulary of Expression

4. Conversation Piece (2006) 7:24

(recorded segments from throat-singers of Asia and Canada *, throat patients ‘speaking’ through implanted electronic larynx devices **, digital voices, processed human voices, and voices of animals )

5. Love and Death (2010) 18:59

(Richard Wagner’s Prelude and Liebestod from his opera Tristan und Isolde performed by the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra of New York conducted by James Levine, Maurice Ravel’s Bolero with Claudio Abbado conducting the London Symphony Orchestra, combined with original electronic music, and Luciano Berio’s Visage (1961) containing electronic sounds and vocal sounds by Cathy Berberian)

6. Walking with Thoreau at Walden Pond (2005) 3:06

(the music consists of sounds of weather, pond, insects, and birds, digitally modified animal sounds, as well as fragments of flute music sampled from Luciano Berio’s Sequenza I for Flute Solo played by Sophie Cherrier)

Complementary text: John Holland, Orientation

7. Chaconne (2010) 14:02

(recorded and digitally modified violin samples of J. S. Bach’s Chaconne from Partitia No. 2 in d minor for Solo Violin BWV 1004 from the classic recording by violinist Henryk Szeryng, combined with original electronic music)